The Lightbox Harrods Would Sell You

For those familiar with Yes, Prime Minister… the title will make sense (think “the nuclear missile Harrods would sell you…”). If you’re not – well, just take my word for it. Emily’s had a fantastic time today with more photography using a home made light box. As ever, Gramps came up trumps with a wonderful home made creation involving a card board box, an enlarger stand, a sheet of glass, a lamp, lots of white paper and even more ingenuity. You can see the set up (note the wording on the box πŸ˜‰ ) in the photos.

This meant Emily could take some fabulous illuminated-from-underneath-so-sort-of-transparent photos of some fruit, flowers and water with food colouring. Some of the results are absolutely beautiful πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’ve set up a flickr account for her – please do pop over and have a look – but here are some of the highlights.

Meanwhile, in violin, the violin grade I and CD book arrived this afternoon, and Emily was delighted to see that all the pieces are within her playing range, with some effort. Considering she hasn’t had a single formal lesson, and considering neither Jon nor I can play an instrument properly, and considering that for me in particular music plays at best an extremely peripheral part in my life (although Jon is very different in that respect)…. all things considered, we’re extremely proud of her πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I remember writing last Autumn that I was worried about how our home ed was failing in the creativity department and how I wanted to find ways to put the creativity back. I thought that was going to mean crafts and traditional art…..but given the progress we’ve made in the last few months in music and in photography, I think I can safely say that’s a goal achieved πŸ™‚

About nikkielysian

Writer, astrologer, home educating Mum.
This entry was posted in Home Education and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Lightbox Harrods Would Sell You

  1. Elaine says:

    Wow, the photos are stunning. Well done Emily.

  2. Elaine says:

    Am loving your new blog style, as always a wonderful read too so I’ve nominated it for an award which can be picked up on my blog here:

    http://elliestreasurescrafts.blogspot.com/

    I know lots of bloggers aren’t into awards so I won’t be upset if you prefer not to accept it.

    Elaine x

Leave a Reply

